Youth Mental Health First Aid

  • Wednesday, April 22, 2015
  • 8:00 AM
  • Tuesday, May 05, 2015
  • 5:00 PM
  • PaTTAN, various locations

The Pennsylvania Department of Education, Bureau of Special Education is pleased to announce the following training opportunity:

 

Youth Mental Health First Aid

   

PaTTAN Pittsburgh - April 22 & 23, 2015 (9:00 am - 1:30 pm - both days)

PaTTAN Harrisburg - May 5 & 6, 2015 (9:00 am - 1:30 pm - both days)

Mental Health Problems are more common than heart disease, lung disease, and cancer combined. In fact, 1 in 5 Americans is estimated to have a diagnosable mental disorder such as depression, anxiety or substance abuse in any given year, including 13.7 million children. Of those children only a third get help from formal mental health or substance abuse services.

Youth mental health first aid is an 8 hour training designed to teach people methods of assisting a young person who may be in the early stages of developing a mental health problem or in a mental crisis.  This training event is being offered to school and/or agency teams to ensure ample support is available to students. Suggested team members are listed below. Prior to the training, teams will be required to watch an introductory webinar.  Information pertaining to the recorded webinar will be provided upon registration.

Target Audience:

School and/or agency teams which may include: educators, administrators, social services staff and volunteers, substance abuse professionals, social workers, school psychologists, guidance counselors, counselors,  family members, college/university leaders, nurses, physician assistants, primary care workers, & policymakers

Presenter:  PaTTAN consultants

 

Registration Information:

Please register online by visiting the PaTTAN website at www.pattan.net.

 

For questions regarding registration, contact:

King of Prussia - Delores Lawson, dlawson@pattan.net 800-441-3215 x7216

 

Pittsburgh - Kristen Olszyk, kolszyk@pattan.net412-826-6848

 

Harrisburg - Wendy Weary, wweary@pattan.net717-901-2273

For questions regarding content, contact:

King of Prussia - Amy Smith, asmith@pattan.net 610-265-7321 x7262

Pittsburgh - Dona Alvino, dalvino@pattan.net 412-826-6870

Harrisburg - Nikole Hollins, nhollins@pattan.net 717-901-2283


Your feedback is important to us.  If you have questions, comments or suggestions, email us!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software